A Visual Comparison history of 12″ Princess Leia figures/dolls

img_4182_r

Kenner 1978 vintage doll, Hasbro’s 1996 Princess Leia, Sideshow’s 1/6th scale Princess Leia figure 2007, Disney D23 Disney store exclusive 2015, and Hot Toys 1/6 Scale figure 2016.

I photographed the complete line of 12″ figures/dolls that have been made to date of Leia wearing her white gown. We have Kenner 1978 vintage doll, Hasbro’s 1996 Princess Leia, Sideshow’s 1/6th scale Princess Leia figure 2007, Disney D23 Disney store exclusive 2015, and Hot Toys 1/6 Scale figure 2016.

img_4183_r

Each has it’s charm, out of them all I think that the Sideshow version is the worst. Her face is cartoonish w/ it’s paint is flat and boring and her dress was made w/ the cheapest of nylon fabric. The Hasbro figure looks very dumpy but at least her gown was better quality than the Sideshow version and she had real hair.

img_4190_r

Even though the articulation and body style isn’t very feminine or ultra posable, I’ll always love my vintage Leia, I still think that her facemold is pretty and very close to Carrie Fisher.

img_4187_r

The 2 newest figures are nice compare/contrasts – the D23 figure is what we would dream for for a playline doll, w/ real rooted hair, nice feminine body, and pretty flowy dress. The Hot Toys is the absolute pinnacle of what a collectible version of her should look like – a miniature ultra life-life representation of the character.

img_4185_r

img_4192_r

About erikab1123

Hello, I've always loved everything relating to photography. I got my first real 35MM camera when I was in Jr High and have never looked back. I love all things relating to photography - photography and playing with Photoshop!
This entry was posted in Star Wars Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.