Rumor Alert: New Star Wars Spin-Off Movies in the Works

starwars

In an interview Tuesday, Walt Disney Company CEO Bob Iger said that Disney and LucasFilm will release standalone films to accompany the new trilogy.

“I can confirm to you today that in fact we are working on a few standalone films, Larry Kasdan and Simon Kinberg are both working on films derived from great Star Wars characters that are not part of the overall saga,” Iger said. We still plan to make Star Wars 7, 8, and 9 roughly over a six-year period of time, starting in 2015. But there are going to be a few other films released in that period, too.”

Today wild speculation is traveling all over the net on what those spin-offs could be. First film that seems to be coming forward as a clear contender is a Yoda-centric feature. Others have said that maybe Jabba the Hutt might be a central figure in a film – really? Would anyone want to see 2 hours of hutt blubber? Finally Entertainment Weekly seems somewhat certain that they’re also working on a Han Solo/Boba Fett feature that would presumably be set between “A New Hope” and “The Empire Strikes Back.” I can’t much imagine that a story with Han as the central character between the end of Ep V-VI would be very exciting. Does one dream in Carbonite?

Anyway – they’ll have to cast a new Han Solo and Daniel Logan could easily step into the part as Fett. Sadly, I think Nathan Fillion would be too old, I’m sure that casting call line will stretch from Hollywood to NYC if this rumor is true. If they cast right, I actually will go see this if this is indeed in the works. They’d been saying that possibly there would be just a Fett movie and I would’ve passed on seeing that – I’ve personally never understood the obsession with him. I’d say it’s a guy thing, but I know plenty of girls who think he’s da-bomb.

All we know for certain is that Kasdan and Kinberg are working on scripts. I’m going to assume that these have been fast-tracked since Abrams might need an extra year before he can start working on Ep 7.  I’ll keep you posted when we get more concrete news.

About erikab1123

Hello, I've always loved everything relating to photography. I got my first real 35MM camera when I was in Jr High and have never looked back. I love all things relating to photography - photography and playing with Photoshop!
This entry was posted in SW News. Bookmark the permalink.