‘Star Wars’ Camera Fetches Record $625,000 at Auction

George Lucas’ machine included film magazines, a dolly and a lens.

The camera that lensed the Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope sold for a record $625,000 at an auction held Saturday.

Organized by Profiles in History and part of The Debbie Reynolds Collection Part II, the Panavision PSR 35 mm camera was used by George Lucas for principal photography on the film.

Would-be Star Warriors could use the camera to continue the adventure, as the fully functional machine and package included two 1000-foot film magazines, a Panaspeed motor, a matte box, follow focus, a Moy-geared head, a camera dolly and a lens.

Source

About erikab1123

Hello, I've always loved everything relating to photography. I got my first real 35MM camera when I was in Jr High and have never looked back. I love all things relating to photography - photography and playing with Photoshop!
This entry was posted in SW News. Bookmark the permalink.