Ben Kenobi Ultimate 1/4 Scale Figure by Diamond Select – Review

imagebam.com imagebam.com imagebam.com imagebam.com imagebam.com imagebam.com imagebam.com imagebam.com imagebam.com imagebam.com imagebam.com imagebam.com

Produced by: Diamond Select Toys
Height: 19″
Accessories: Costume, Jedi Robe, Practice Target & Stand, lightsaber, 4 Hands.
Year Produced: 2009

Ratings: (Scale 0-5)

  • Displayability: 5
  • Articulation: 5
  • Assembly Ease: 4
  • Character Likeness: 4.5
  • Overall Quality: 4.625

I recently received my A New Hope Ben Kenobi Ultimate 1/4 Scale figure. I hesitated for quite a while on getting him, not because I don’t like Old Ben, but because I really don’t have anywhere to display him. Well – now I’ve found a spot, so I ordered him up.

Upon immediate inspection I really like his costume. Diamond used what looks like the same fabric as was used on the ROTS Kenobi, showing that not only did Ben get stuck in a look for 10 years while wasting away in the Tatooine desert, but his sense of style stagnated as well. :p The costume is very nice. Like Mace, his robe is of a soft cotton that easily wrinkles. It’s got the wiring in the hood so that you can shape how it goes around his face. His belt is a lot less detailed than his younger version, most likely because the screen version from ANH wasn’t as detailed.

Facially Old Ben is very nice. I love my vintage Kenner 12″ Ben and I think that this one might even be better looking than that. My only real complaint is that his face is rather pasty pale looking w/o any extra coloring on his face to make it more life like. His hair is gray with highlights of white – this is true in his hair and beard.

The practice target and lightsaber are both nicely detailed. His boots have some lighter coloring on them to likely resemble sand.

Mine says “That’s no moon, it’s a space station.” I assume he says more, but like nearly all of my other DS figures, I can’t figure out how to get him to say more than one thing – which I know that he’s supposed to do.

Final thoughts, he didn’t seem to come w/ 2 hands that could easily clasp his lightsaber. His right hand looked like maybe it got some excess plastic stuck on it which left his fingers glued together. Result, his fingers won’t go around the lightsaber hilt which is larger. Otherwise – he’s still very nice. It’s too bad that ANH Luke and Darth Vader who were both supposed to come out this year didn’t make it to production, it would’ve been nice to have them to display with him.

About erikab1123

Hello, I've always loved everything relating to photography. I got my first real 35MM camera when I was in Jr High and have never looked back. I love all things relating to photography - photography and playing with Photoshop!
This entry was posted in Collectible Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.