Queen Amidala & Anakin Skywalker – Pepsi Twist Revenge of the Sith Ep III Sound Big Cap Sets – Review

galleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.com

Sculpted by Gentle Giant.
Production Year: 2005
Type: Pepsi Twist mail in items, only available in Japan.

Ratings: (Scale 0-5)

  • Displayability: 5
  • Articulation: N/A
  • Assembly Ease: N/A
  • Character Likeness: 5
  • Overall Quality: 5

This set was #1 on my list that I wanted because I’m an Anakin/Padme ‘shipper. This set marks the first time that Gentle Giant has made a Queen Amidala bust…yeah, yeah I know there’s that little bust thing that came out a few years ago w/ the same costume, but they’ve yet to make a Mini-bust of Queen Amidala – and for the life of me, I have no idea why. I would love to have a whole shelf of mini-busts showcasing the elaborate head pieces from each of her costumes…*sigh* “The Phantom Menace” just gets no respect in the adult collector’s market.

Like Obi-Wan and Grievous these 2 both come w/ sound capabilities. Both begin with the Star Wars main theme. Anakin says “This is where the fun begins” and Queen Amidala “My Fate will be no different than that of my people.”

Anakin appears to be sculpted in the middle of a duel – he’s got his lightsaber positioned to block a parry. He’s got a slight smile on his face. His sculpt is like Obi-Wan’s in that GG paid close attention to fabric detail and detailing on his belt. For his face, Anakin has both of his scars and hair is long and curled. He’s also wearing a nicely detailed version of his glove.

Queen Amidala is wearing my favorite Theed invasion gown. The robe portion of the gown shows the ridges where the fabric is separated on the gown, and there’s light detailing of the stitching on the neck piece. Fur and gold accents are there – however the fur doesn’t have any extra detailing, even in the larger areas around her hands. And her entire headpiece is lacking any extra sculpting to show any detail work that is prominent on the full sized version. She does have manicured nails.

Overall – another nice set. I really hope that I can track down the rest of them – I’d rather have these than statues or other more expensive collectibles out there.

About erikab1123

Hello, I've always loved everything relating to photography. I got my first real 35MM camera when I was in Jr High and have never looked back. I love all things relating to photography - photography and playing with Photoshop!
This entry was posted in Collectible Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.