Anakin Skywalker Ultimate 1/4 Scale Diamond Select Figure – Review

galleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.com

By Diamond Select Toys. Production Year 2009.

Ratings: (Scale 0-5)

  • Displayability: 5
  • Articulation: 5
  • Assembly Ease: 5
  • Character Likeness: 4.5
  • Overall Quality: 5

Figure features:

  • Stands 19″ tall
  • Comes with Lightsaber & extra open right hand.
  • Stand
  • Sound effects & Phrases from the film
  • Over 24 points of articulation

Ok so initially when I saw these figures I was a mixture between excited and terrified. Nearly all of the photos that I saw of the figures other than factory photos had me going kind of ‘meh’ over the faces. Also the figures looked like they might’ve been proportioned slightly off and overly skinny.

Imagine my happy surprise when I received my first 2 of these figures and they are BEAUTIFUL. First up for review is Anakin.

Now I’ve never been interested in the Sideshow 1/4 scale figures because A) they’re expensive B) they’re not articulated. Basically they’re statues w/ some soft goods thrown on them. These Diamond Select figures are meant to be toys. They’re large scale action figures. And coming in at around $80 each the quality might come in question for how large the items are. Buyers have nothing to worry about. These figures are beautiful! The costumes IMO are nicer than Sideshow’s 12″ lines.

For Anakin’s costume, the sleeves on his tunic are lined. The pants have nice waistbands on them. His belt is covered in nicely detailed pockets. His boots are vinyl but they’ve been aged nicely enough that they look leather.

Anakin’s hair is sculpted to give lots of waves all over his head. His facial features look like Hayden Christensen as well. Paint job comes complete w/ scar. His hand has lots of veins and looks very realistic.

If I have one complaint it’s that for some reason his head is a lot lighter than his body in color. Hayden was very tan in ROTS so the pale skin looks a little odd. But it’s not ghastly pale so he still displays well.

Overall – I’ve got the 2 ROTS Sideshow figures and this one far outshines both of them for quality.

About erikab1123

Hello, I've always loved everything relating to photography. I got my first real 35MM camera when I was in Jr High and have never looked back. I love all things relating to photography - photography and playing with Photoshop!
This entry was posted in Collectible Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anakin Skywalker Ultimate 1/4 Scale Diamond Select Figure – Review

  1. Pingback: Anakin Skywalker Ultimate 1/4 Scale Diamond Select Figure – New Photos | Star Wars Shrine

Comments are closed.