Hasbro 12″ Sandtrooper & Patrol Dewback – Review

Star Wars: 12″ scale Patrol Dewback and Sandtrooper – Power of the Force series. Dewback is 32″ long from nose to tip of tail.

Ratings: (Scale 0-5)

  • Displayability: 5
  • Articulation: 3
  • Assembly Ease: N/A
  • Character Likeness: 4.5
  • Overall Quality: 4.17

With the recent announcement of Sideshow’s 12″ Patrol Dewback, I decided that I’d rather not spend $200+ for a stationary critter and look for a Hasbro version instead. Today I scored a loose 12″ scale Patrol Dewback for 1/10th of the cost that the Sideshow version will be.

I had 2 Sandtroopers already so one found himself a new home on top of the beast. I’ve got vintage Kenner Dewbacks and the earliest Hasbro version. I’ve always been a big fan of the beasts of burden and in fact was always sad that Hasbro never made a 12″ scale Bantha. In my collection I have the 12″ Wompa, Tauntaun, and Captain Tarpals and Kaadu – so I’ve been needing the Dewback to round out my 12″ large critter collection.

Articulation: The Dewback is pretty awesome. He doesn’t have gobs of articulation – the articulation comes in the form of his legs move at the shoulder points front and back and his head swivels around. His long tail is soft rubber and had a flexible rod in it so you can change it’s direction for display. Mouth does not open.

Figure comes with a molded on saddle and neck harness – hand strap is attached and can be manually repositioned to put in the sandtroopers hands.

Character Likeness: This Dewback has the most beautifully molded feet. Each of his toes were given lots of wrinkles and detail. Overall the figure’s got 2 different levels of green paint that gives his coloring depth. I like that they kept the paint out of the wrinkles around his mouth so that the base yellow coat came through.

I would’ve liked to have seen his mouth be able to open and close – I love that the TaunTaun’s really expressive because they molded his mouth wide open. The Dewback seems to just be out enjoying a day in the desert.

Overall: I’m happy with the dewback and certainly feel like he’s enough of the green beast of burden for me that I won’t be crying to own a Sideshow version.

About erikab1123

Hello, I've always loved everything relating to photography. I got my first real 35MM camera when I was in Jr High and have never looked back. I love all things relating to photography - photography and playing with Photoshop!
This entry was posted in Collectible Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.