12″ Sideshow Bib Fortuna Figure – Review

1/6 Scale Bib Fortuna Figure from Sideshow. Standard Edition: Production Year 2007, edition size 5000.

Ratings: (Scale 0-5)

  • Displayability: 5
  • Articulation: 3
  • Assembly Ease: N/A
  • Character Likeness: 4.5
  • Overall Quality: 4.17

The 12-inch Bib Fortuna figure includes:

  • Fully articulated male body with 30+ points of articulation
  • Authentic likeness of Bib Fortuna
  • Detailed costume including:
    • Traditional Ryloth Robe
    • Gown
    • Pants
    • Waistband
    • Armored chestplate
    • Boots
  • Accessories including:
    • Nefarious Knife
    • Jabba’s frog-like favorite snackfood
    • Drinking glass
  • Interchangeable hands, including:
    • Pointing Hand left
    • Pointing Hand right
    • Gripping Hand left
    • Gripping Hand right

So if you’ve been paying attention to my recent reviews, you might be able to tell that I’m working on collecting the figures needed for a Jabba’s Palace display. Granted, the big kahuna isn’t here yet, but I’m working on tracking him down. Until then – I scored Jabba’s Major Domo Bib Fortuna today. I never did manage to get my hands on a Hasbro version, so this suited me just fine. I always loved my old Kenner 3 3/4″ figure of Bib Fortuna because he was really well detailed. To me, Sideshow’s version looks like a nice supersized version of the Kenner toy.

Bib has tons of clothes on him such that if you switch out his hands, he’s even got tunic sleeves under his robes. His robe is pretty cool, it’s got multi-layers of fabric sewn on top of each other to give his robe depth. Like the Gamorrean Guard, his breast plate armor and wrist bands have nice patina on them to give them the appearance of age.

His expression is rather dazed, so I guess he needs to be displayed w/ your Jedi Luke putting the mind-trick whammy on him. His tentacles are nicely detailed also.

Few small complaints: I do wish that the exclusive version had the knife and the staff came w/ the standard edition since that’s his signature item that he carries around for most of his time on screen in “Return of the Jedi.”

I switched out one of his hands and they were a little bit easier to put on than the Gamorreans, but not by much. My particular figure’s arms were a bit stiff too to try to readjust.

Overall: He’s a nice figure – but he doesn’t blow my skirt up with excitement. I think a more pissed off expression with more teeth exposed would’ve made him a bit more exciting.

About erikab1123

Hello, I've always loved everything relating to photography. I got my first real 35MM camera when I was in Jr High and have never looked back. I love all things relating to photography - photography and playing with Photoshop!
This entry was posted in Collectible Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.