Princess Leia (A New Hope) 12″ Sideshow Figure – Review

Princess Leia (A New Hope) 1:6 Scale (12″) Figure by Sideshow. Production date: 2007. Edition size: 5000.

Ratings: (Scale 0-5)

  • Displayability: 5
  • Articulation: 5
  • Assembly Ease: N/A
  • Character Likeness: 4
  • Overall Quality: 4

Accessories:

  • Fully articulated short female body with 30+ points of articulation
  • Authentic likeness of Carrie Fisher as Princess Leia
  • Detailed costume including:
    • Hooded Gown
    • Belt
    • Boots
  • Accessories including:
    • Blaster pistol
    • Stormtrooper Blaster
    • Death Star plans

I received my A New Hope Leia – aka Buns Leia today. I’m a rooted hair enthusiast for my dolls but I’ve grown resigned to the fact that Sideshow doesn’t do hair. At least, unlike Ilum Padme, Leia DOES have hair – even if it is in molded.

Her face is pretty nice, other than she’s got a rather bland, sour look on her face. They didn’t bother trying to give her eyelashes which makes her face a bit dull. Her nose however nicely matches Carrie’s in shape. Hair buns are screen replicas, not just generic round donuts.

My biggest beef w/ this figure is her costume. They used a cheap nylon fabric for her dress – even Hasbro used thicker, nicer fabric for their Leias. I get why they did that – it won’t wrinkle as easily and will display nicely, however, it’s cheap looking and feeling. They could’ve gone with a cotton/nylon blend that would’ve made the gown a bit heavier and bumped the quality so that it better matches nearly all of their other figures. The belt looked a little basic also – I think they could’ve used a slightly thicker leather to make it look more realistic.

Attached boots are nicely molded w/ tons of detail. She comes w/ 2 blasters and her tiny “Death Star” Plans chip. Accessories as always are nice. She poses nice and can be displayed into ass-kicking positions which makes her different than her Hasbro & Kenner counterparts.

Overall – pretty well done on the figure – dress needed extra work & attention.

About erikab1123

Hello, I've always loved everything relating to photography. I got my first real 35MM camera when I was in Jr High and have never looked back. I love all things relating to photography - photography and playing with Photoshop!
This entry was posted in Collectible Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.