The Phantom Menace Yoda Bust Bank – Dimond Select Toys SE – Review

The Phantom Menace Yoda Bust Bank – Dimond Select Toys Special Edition. 2009. 6″x7″W

Ratings: (Scale 0-5)

  • Displayability: 5
  • Articulation: N/A
  • Assembly Ease: N/A
  • Character Likeness: 5
  • Overall Quality: 5

A couple of years ago I got to see the latest STAR WARS in concert tour. It’s the show where Anthony Daniels narrates the story of STAR WARS w/ a live orchestra and a massive digital screen & lightshow that play scenes in the film in time to the music. During the clips I noticed something amazing – the scary, bright green muppet Yoda originally used in THE PHANTOM MENACE was gone and he was replaced with a much less frightening CGI version.

This bank bust bank of Yoda from Diamond Select Toys looks just like how Yoda appeared in the footage. From what I understand when the Blu-Rays of the saga hit stores in the Fall, the CGI Yoda will replace the muppet, so you’ll get your chance to see the footage then. Until then, I’d recommend this bank. It’s made of heavy duty vinyl and nicely detailed. The paint on his face and skin was used w/ extreme care to give his facial features a lot of depth. His eyes in fact look a heck of a lot less creepy than some Sideshow figures (*cough*Snowbunny Padme*Cough*)

Yoda’s sitting in his chair and you even get a peek at his feet under the folds of his robe. The hair is white and fuller than his wispier hair from the later films showing that he’s the youngest Yoda.

I’m impressed with the quality of the piece and now can’t wait for my 2 1:4 scale figures to show up to check them out!

About erikab1123

Hello, I've always loved everything relating to photography. I got my first real 35MM camera when I was in Jr High and have never looked back. I love all things relating to photography - photography and playing with Photoshop!
This entry was posted in Collectible Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.