Padme Amidala – Ilum Mission Sideshow 12″ Figure – Review

Padme Amidala – Ilum Mission Sideshow 1:6 Scale figure.

Ratings: (Scale 0-5)

  • Displayability: 5
  • Articulation: 5
  • Assembly Ease: N/A
  • Character Likeness: 2
  • Overall Quality: 3

Figure Specs:

In a recent poll, fans selected this Snow Bunny version of Padmi Amidala as the Star Wars Expanded Universe character that they most wanted to see as a collectible figure. In the true spirit of the Republic, the voice of the people has been heard!

The Padme Amidala – Ilum Mission 12 inch Figure features:

  • Fully articulated short female body with 30+ points of articulation
  • Authentic likeness of Natalie Portman as Padmi Amidala
  • Hooded snow suit
  • Fur-trimmed cape
  • Boots
  • Detailed Belt with holster
  • Blaster Pistol
  • Electro-binoculars
  • Grenade
  • Gloved hands
  • 12-Inch Figure Display Base with Star Wars logo
So I bought this figure with low expectations and wasn’t overly surprised that when I pulled her out of her packaging – Padme’s rather a mess. I had to get her because she’s the only Padme that Sideshow has produced. I’m guessing that they’re terrified of trying to tackle any of her ornate costumes – that’s not what they do – they’re a boys company. GRRR!
First let’s focus on the positives on the figure. Once I wrangled her left arm into a proper position she’s got nice articulation. Her accessories – Electro-binoculars & blaster are awesome in their detail. I also really like her boots and gloved hands
The negatives – I seriously don’t know why they did this but they gave Padme the beadiest, teeniest eyes that I’ve ever seen. If it wasn’t for the fact that they’re really nicely painted I’d redo them. The prototype photos showed her w/ larger eyeballs and that in return made the figure resemble Natalie Portman. With the eyes being way too small the likeness is gone.
They also enjoyed making this figure because she’s wearing a bodysuit  – that meant that they didn’t have to bother with her hair. So under her elastic type hoodie – she’s bald. Zipper on back of jumpsuit doesn’t come down which made it difficult for me to get her arm turned properly around w/o being able to see what I was doing I was worried that I’d break her. Cape is alright – but the fringe is really tame and not as fluffy as it looks from the cartoons.
Overall – she’s better looking than that horrific AOTC jumpsuit Padme that Hasbro produced – but not by much.
About erikab1123

Hello, I've always loved everything relating to photography. I got my first real 35MM camera when I was in Jr High and have never looked back. I love all things relating to photography - photography and playing with Photoshop!
This entry was posted in Collectible Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.