Jawa Vinyl Collectible Doll by Medicom 1/4 Scale Figure – Review

(Pictured L->R : Medicom Jawa, Vintage 12″ scale Kenner Jawa, Hasbro Jawa)

Manufacturer: Medicom Toy
Distributed by: Sideshow Collectible Toys
Date: 2008
Accessories: Droid stunner, blaster, robe, and bandoliers.

Ratings: (Scale 0-5)

  • Displayability: 5
  • Articulation: 3
  • Assembly Ease: 4
  • Character Likeness: 5
  • Overall Quality: 4.25

I think that I might be head over heels for this little guy. First off – if you look at the photo above you can tell that I enjoy collecting these guys. Overall I have a great fondness for nearly any critter from the Original trilogy and Jawas are ones that spoke to me since they looked like little kids (and in fact were portrayed by kids in the film – I know, my sister’s childhood friend’s brother was one of them.)

galleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.comgalleryhosted.com

The Medicom Jawa is adorable. Unlike the other 2 Jawas he’s got a nice round head. The folks over at Medicom did a great job w/ the robe, giving it lots of folds so that it looks like he walked right out of the desert. He’s got glowing eyes that light up when hit by light. His robe is a nice, rustic burlap. His bandoliers have lots of different textures to them – 2 different kinds of leather.

Articulation is a bit of problem for him. They made him so that he’s permanently creeping along. His legs nor waist move. His robe in fact is glued together between his two legs in order to further show off the folds on his costume. The parts that do articulate on him are his head, arms, and hands. He easily holds his droid controller and blaster. Both of which are beautifully detailed.

Out of the three Jawas above the Medicom is more rugged and realistic looking. He’s very charming and displays wonderfully. The vintage Jawa still looks great and is fun from a nostalgic standpoint. The Hasbro Jawa has always sort of creeped me out a bit thanks to his scary shiny face. He rather looks like a fly in my opinion.

About erikab1123

Hello, I've always loved everything relating to photography. I got my first real 35MM camera when I was in Jr High and have never looked back. I love all things relating to photography - photography and playing with Photoshop!
This entry was posted in Collectible Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.